Mali

SDG 2: Zero hunger
Mariagiovanna Costa, Volontaire des Nations Unies de nationalité italienne, en service au sous-bureau du Programme Alimentaire Mondial (PAM) de la région de Mopti, rend visite aux familles de déplacés internes du camp baptisé « CAN 2002 Socoura », du nom de l’ancien stade d’entrainement des joueurs de football de la Coupe d’Afrique des Nations. 
 
15 mai 2019
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions, SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

Les enfants réfugiés, l'espoir et l'avenir du Tchad et de la République centrafricaine


Des milliers de réfugiés originaires de la République centrafricaine ont fui vers le sud du Tchad depuis fin 2017, dont la plupart manque de nourriture, d’abri et d'accès aux soins médicaux. Ils se sont installés dans plus de 40 villages et dans quatre camps près de la ville de Goré - une zone qui accueille déjà environ 43 000 réfugiés de la République centrafricaine et 45 000 rapatriés du Tchad, principalement des femmes et des enfants.

20 juin 2018
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions, SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

Durant leurs missions sur le continent, les volontaires des Nations Unies démontrent à chaque fois un niveau exceptionnel de professionnalisme, de dévouement et de courage.


29 mai 2018
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Mon nom est Ouedraogo Mohamadi. Je suis Volontaire des Nations Unies Analyste d’information au Centre d'analyse conjoint de la Mission (JMAC) de la Mission Multidimensionnelle Intégrée des Nations Unies pour la Stabilisation au Mali (MINUSMA). Je suis affecté dans le nord du Mali, tout d'abord à Kidal et maintenant à Gao. Je suis chargé de collectionner et analyser les informations dans le cadre du mandat de la MINUSMA et de les transmettre à mes chefs.

30 janvier 2018
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 1: No poverty

Helena Pes est une Volontaire ONU affectée au HCR dans le camp de Mbéra. « La situation au nord Mali demeure instable et dans ces conditions de retours massifs de réfugiés ne sont pas envisagés. » nous explique-t-elle. Dans un pays, où les communautés et ethnies avaient appris à vivre ensemble, depuis 2012, plusieurs populations ont commencé à fuir le nord Mali à cause du conflit et par peur des répressions. Il s’agit pour la plupart de Touareg mais il y a aussi des Arabes, de Peules et Songhai parmi les plus de 51 000 réfugiés du camp.

15 août 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 11: Sustainable cities and communities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Au Mali, le chemin vers la paix et la réconciliation a été entravé par un ensemble de facteurs associant le coup d’État militaire de 2012, des frontières peu sûres et la prolifération d’armes de petit calibre importées illégalement ou volées dans des réserves d’armes non sécurisées. Cela n’a cependant pas empêché le peuple malien de défendre la démocratie, et le pays se trouve actuellement dans une période de transition vers le rétablissement de l’ordre constitutionnel et de la gouvernance démocratique.

11 août 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

«Travailler à la MINUSMA m’a permis de relever de multiple défis et d’apprendre beaucoup sur la culture malienne. Mon expérience s’inscrit complètement dans la vision des volontaires de l’ONU qui est d’être « l’inspiration en action ». Toute la démarche du sujet de la protection du patrimoine était à inventer et évolue depuis trois ans.»

21 mai 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

La cérémonie officielle s’est déroulée à la maison des jeunes de Gao, en présence des autorités régionales, des représentants des associations locales de jeunes et du programme VNU. Les discours des officiels ont souligné l’importance de la jeunesse pour faire face aux défis futurs, et ont salué l’initiative du programme VNU, qui « permettra à la jeunesse de Gao d’avoir un lieu de retrouvailles, d’union et de formation, qui lui permettra d’avoir un lieu où elle pourra mener ses activités, sans distinction de race, de sexe et de religion », selon les mots de M.

25 avril 2017
Actualités
SDG 5: Gender equality

Soundio Idrissa Coulibaly est Volontaire des Nations Unies international chargé des questions du genre. De nationalité ivoirienne, Soundio est formateur à la MINUSMA sur le Genre depuis avril 2014. Dans le cadre de la célébration de la Journée internationale des femmes, Soundio nous donne un aperçu de sa perception du genre, 

pour moi l’appropriation du genre en général et le respect de la femme en particulier commence au berceau » dit Soundio Idrissa Coulibaly, Volontaire des Nations Unies international chargé du Genre au sein de la MINUSMA.

08 mars 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 5: Gender equality

Je m’appelle Anouk et je fais partie de l’équipe Gouvernance, Paix et Sécurité du Bureau Régional d’ONU Femmes à Dakar, au Sénégal. Je suis passionnée par les questions d’égalité hommes/femmes et suis investie dans cette cause depuis plusieurs années. Me retrouver comme Volontaire ONU à Dakar au sein du Bureau Régional d’ONU Femmes a été pour moi une opportunité de mettre mes convictions au service des droits des femmes en Afrique de l’Ouest et en Afrique Centrale.

08 mars 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories

Mali

SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions, SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

Refugee children, the hope and future of Chad and the Central African Republic

Thousands of refugees from the Central African Republic fled to southern Chad since the end of 2017, many of whom lack food, shelter and access to medical care. They settled in more than 40 villages and four camps near the town of Goré – an area that already hosts around 43,000 refugees from the Central African Republic and 45,000 returnees from Chad, predominantly women and children. 

20 June 2018
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions, SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

During their assignments with peace keeping missions, UN Volunteers are known to demonstrate an exceptional level of professionalism, dedication and courage.


29 May 2018
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

My name is Ouedraogo Mohamadi. I am an international UN Volunteer working as an information analyst at the Joint Mission Analysis Centre (JMAC) of the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali (MINUSMA). I started in Kidal but now work in Gao, Northern Mali. My role is to collect and analyse data as part of MINUSMA's mandate. I also assist the Head of the Mission in Gao. I help ensure that the mission's mandate is carried out.

30 January 2018
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 1: No poverty

Helena Pes (Italy) is an international UN Volunteer serving in the Mbera camp, Mauritania, with the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). "The situation in northern Mali remains unstable and in these conditions, influx of refugees is unpredictable," she explains. Since 2012, several populations fled from Northern Mali due to conflict and the fear of oppression. Most of the more than 51,000 refugees in the camp are Touareg, co-habiting with Arab, Fula, and Songhai refugees.

15 August 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 11: Sustainable cities and communities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

In Mali, the road to peace and reconciliation has been wrought by a 2012 military coup and insecure borders, combined with a proliferation of small arms illegally imported or stolen from unsecured stockpiles. This, however, has not stopped the Malian people from championing democracy—the country is in a period of transition geared towards the re-establishment of constitutional order and democratic governance. In 2013, Presidential and Parliamentary elections were held in the country, representing a milestone on the path to peace.

10 August 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

"Working with MINUSMA has allowed me to deal with many challenges and to learn a lot about the Malian culture. My experience is a commitment to the vision of UN Volunteers which is to be  "l’inspiration en action" . All the work involved with heritage protection had to be invented and developed during the last three years."

21 May 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 5: Gender equality

My name is Anouk and I am part of the Governance, Peace and Security team of the UN Women Regional Office in Dakar, Senegal. I am passionate about questions regarding equality between men and women and have invested myself in this cause for many years. To find myself now a UN Volunteer in  Dakar, serving with UN Women, is for me an opportunity de place my convictions at the service of women's rights in West and Central Africa.

08 March 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

For two years, Irene has been working to strengthen and consolidate peace within Malian civil society. Her position involves working with Malian communities, particularly their young people, to help young people develop skills as peacemakers and promotors of tolerance, intercultural dialogue and non-violence.

As part of her role as a young volunteer, Irene accompanies the Malian government as they cooperate with various ministries to implement national programs and policies aimed at youth development and peacebuilding.

01 February 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

The International Volunteer Day was celebrated in Mali and chaired by Prime Minister Mobido Keita who reiterated, in the presence of the United Nations Volunteers (UNV) programme Deputy Executive Coordinator, Nicola Harrington, that the national authorities are committed to promote volunteerism.

10 December 2016
News

While the first round of elections in Mali will take place in Mali on Sunday 28 July, United Nations Volunteers have been working hard for several weeks already. Often working late into the night, they look to support the Malian authorities in the organisation of transparent, inclusive and credible presidential elections in Mali.

A total of 21 UN Volunteers have been mobilised under the Support to Mali's Electoral Process Project (PAPEM) implemented by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

26 July 2013
News