IFRC

SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Selon le Croissant-Rouge iranien, 328 personnes au moins ont perdu la vie et 3 950 autres ont été blessées. En Irak, le séisme a tué 9 personnes et fait plus de 425 blessés, d’après le Croissant-Rouge irakien.


04 décembre 2017
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Akeisha Benjamin, coordinateur de projet Zika à la société de la Croix-Rouge de Trinité-et-Tobago explique : « Alors que les gens nettoient après les inondations, nous faisons passer le message suivant : se débarrasser des eaux stagnantes aussi vite que possible afin d’éliminer les zones de reproduction du moustique. Étant donné que certaines personnes ont dû être évacuées et se rendre dans des refuges, nous encourageons les personnes affectées à nettoyer rapidement.

30 novembre 2017
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 13: Climate change

Au cœur du district de Kindo Koysha au sud de l’Éthiopie, le réseau routier est rudimentaire. Ainsi, quand des volontaires de la Croix-Rouge éthiopienne ont commencé leur projet d’approvisionnement d’urgence en eau aux familles les plus vulnérables, l’une des difficultés principales a été de parvenir jusqu’à elles. Grâce à des personnes comme Yonas Bade, un fermier et volontaire local, ce problème a vite été résolu.

28 novembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Des coulées de boue sans précédent – provoquées par trois jours de pluies diluviennes – se sont produites dans la banlieue côtière de Racecourse située à l'est de la capitale sierra-léonaise, ainsi que dans les localités de Regent et de Lumley où des milliers de campements de fortune abritent les communautés les plus pauvres de la capitale.


23 novembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

Les feux de forêt ont commencé sur les côtes dimanche 16 juillet 2017 et se sont vite propagés à cause de vents forts et du temps sec. En Croatie, plusieurs villages autour de Split dans la région de Dalmatie étaient menacés par les feux, de nombreuses habitations ont ainsi été privées de gaz et d’électricité. On déplore une victime et plus de 3 500 mètres carrés de forêts dévastés.


16 novembre 2017
Europe and the CIS
Our stories
SDG 13: Climate change

Selon les autorités, au moins 228 habitations se sont effondrées ou ont été balayées dans la région, près de 600 ont été endommagées ou privées de toiture ; et 657 milliards de dongs vietnamiens ou 24,4 millions d’euros de cultures, bétail et infrastructures ont été perdus.


01 novembre 2017
Asia and the Pacific
Our stories
SDG 1: No poverty, SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Peu après son arrivée à Nea Kavala, Saleh s’est porté volontaire auprès de l’équipe de la Croix-Rouge spécialisée dans l’eau et l’assainissement pour l’aider à assurer l’accès à une eau propre et à des infrastructures sécurisées. Finalement, son rôle a dépassé celui d’un technicien. Il a permis d’établir une relation de confiance entre la Croix-Rouge et la communauté. Il est ainsi devenu une figure centrale en restant à l’écoute des habitants du camp et prenant note de leurs remarques, commentaires et inquiétudes.

23 octobre 2017
Europe and the CIS
Our stories
SDG 1: No poverty, SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Menée par le Dr Mohsin Ahmed, une équipe médicale mobile du Croissant-Rouge du Bangladesh s’est installée au Bangladesh. Il nous explique que la nourriture, l’eau et les abris constituent les principales préoccupations des personnes qu’il suit, la plupart étant des femmes et des enfants.


20 octobre 2017
Asia and the Pacific
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Le Ministère de la Santé sri lankais a comptabilisé plus de 87 600 cas présumés de l’infection virale transmise par les moustiques et 230 décès en juillet 2017. Bien que la dengue soit une maladie endémique au Sri Lanka, le nombre d’infections à cette date était déjà de 38% plus élevé qu’en 2016, qui avait été marquée par 55 150 cas d’infection et 97 décès. Selon les experts, le virus provient d’une souche nouvelle et particulièrement virulente, rencontrant de ce fait peu de résistance immunitaire.


18 octobre 2017
Asia and the Pacific
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Les mécanismes d’intervention des volontaires ont été intensifiés afin d’appuyer les régions touchées par plusieurs séismes qui ont fait trembler Mexico en septembre 2017. Des centres de collecte ont été mis en place et épaulés pour coordonner la restauration des liens familiaux au niveau national.


Au cours du mois de septembre, 236 tonnes d’aide humanitaire ont été reçues dans des centres de collectes situés dans 16 États du pays — une aide qui a bénéficié à plus de 20 000 personnes.


16 octobre 2017
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories

IFRC

SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

This year, United Nations Volunteers in Egypt have collaborated with the Egyptian Red Crescent in implementing a joint 3-day event from the 5th to the 7th of December. This event aims to shed light on how #VolunteersActFirst support their communities and reinforce joint action on achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

08 December 2017
News
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

According to Iran Red Crescent, at least 328 people have been killed and 3,950 injured. In Iraq, the Iraqi Red Crescent report that nine people have been killed and more than 425 injured.

04 December 2017
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Akeisha Benjamin, Zika Project Coordinator with the Trinidad and Tobago Red Cross society (TTRCS) explains, “As people are cleaning up from the floods we are pushing the message to get rid of stagnant waters as quickly as possible, to eliminate mosquito breeding grounds. Given the fact that some people had to evacuate and go to shelters, we are encouraging affected persons to clean up quickly. We are also working with the Regional Corporations to spread the message.” The focus of the project has primarily been on community and school’s outreach in selected areas.

30 November 2017
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 13: Climate change

Deep in the heart of the district of Kindo Koysha in southern Ethiopia, the road system is rudimentary. When volunteers from the Ethiopian Red Cross Society wanted to start distributing emergency water rations to the most vulnerable of families, getting there was a noted challenge. But, with people like Yonas Bade, a farmer and local volunteer on hand, it was a challenge that would be quickly overcome.

28 November 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

The most severe mudslides – triggered by three days of heavy rains – occurred in the coastal suburb of Racecourse on the city’s eastern edge, as well as in Regent and Lumley where thousands of makeshift settlements are home to the city’s poorest communities.

Response teams, including dozens of Sierra Leone Red Cross (SLRCS) volunteers recovered people from the mud and debris, helping evacuate residents, transferring bodies to morgues and providing medical care to the injured.

23 November 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

The forest fires started on the coastal area on Sunday 16 July 2017, and spread quickly due to strong winds and dry weather. In Croatia, several villages around Split in Dalmatia were threatened by the fire, and many houses were left without gas and electricity. One person was killed in the fire and more than 3,500 square meters of forest area were destroyed.


16 November 2017
Europe and the CIS
Our stories
SDG 13: Climate change

Authorities estimate that at least 228 houses collapsed or were swept away in this region, nearly 600 were damaged or unroofed and 657 billion Vietnam Dong or 28.9 million US dollars’ worth of crops, livestock and infrastructure were lost.

Within a day of the flash floods, Viet Nam Red Cross Society volunteers arrived in the affected provinces to assist families with supplies, financial and emotional support, and other help from the Viet Nam Red Cross Society headquarters.

01 November 2017
Asia and the Pacific
Our stories
SDG 1: No poverty, SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Saleh started volunteering with the Red Cross’ water and sanitation team soon after arriving at Nea Kavala, helping to ensure people in the camp have access to clean water and safe facilities. But he played more than a technician’s role, and has been central in making sure that the Red Cross has a strong relationship with the community and listens to feedback, comments and concerns from people in the camp.

23 October 2017
Europe and the CIS
Our stories
SDG 1: No poverty, SDG 3: Good health and well-being

A Bangladesh Red Crescent mobile medical team has been set up in Bangladesh, and it is run by volunteer Dr. Mohsin Ahmed. He explains that food, water and shelter are the main concern of the people he is seeing, most of whom are women and children.

20 October 2017
Asia and the Pacific
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Sri Lanka’s Ministry of Health reported more than 87,600 suspected cases of the mosquito-borne infection in 2017, causing over 230 deaths. Dengue is endemic in Sri Lanka, but the number of infections this year was already about 38 per cent higher than 2016, when 55,150 people were diagnosed with dengue and 97 died. Experts say the virus is a particularly virulent strain that is new to Sri Lanka, and therefore immunity is low.

18 October 2017
Asia and the Pacific
Our stories