medical

SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

En 2017, près de 250 Volontaires ONU dans le monde entier ont mené à bien des missions relevant du domaine de la santé. Ils ont avancé le travail de 23 organisations partenaires de l'ONU, telles que l'OMS (Organisation Mondiale de la Santé), l'UNFPA (Fonds des Nations Unies pour la Population), l'UNHCR (Agence des Nations Unies pour les Réfugiés), l'UNDP (Programme des Nations Unies pour le Développement), et l'ONU pour le Maintien de la Paix.

09 avril 2018
Actualités
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

J’ai eu le privilège et le plaisir d’exercer en tant que médecin Volontaire de l’ONU dans trois pays différents. Ma première expérience a été en tant que Médecin Volontaire des Nations Unies à Kinshasa en République Démocratique du Congo (2009) avec la Mission de l’Organisation des Nations Unies dans la République Démocratique du Congo (MONUC). C’était pour moi une occasion d’apprendre sur le mode de vie de la mission de l’ONU, en effectuant également plusieurs formations. Notre clinique de niveau 2 a traité de nombreux cas de Malaria, en plus d’autres problèmes médicaux.

06 février 2018
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

Je suis médecin de profession. En dessus de tout ce que j’ai connu dans la vie, être un volontaire de l’ONU dans une mission de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies a eu la plus grande influence sur le décollage de ma carrière. Quand j’ai initialement choisi de devenir volontaire de l’ONU avec la Mission d’Appui des Nations Unies en Lybie (MANUL), c’était par simple inquiétude pour les populations de cet environnement privé de tout. Mais après avoir intégré la mission, j’ai réalisé que j’avais également beaucoup à gagner de cette expérience.

16 janvier 2018
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Les Volontaires de l’ONU participant à la Mission d’assistance des Nations Unies en Somalie (MANUSOM) font face à une série de défis uniques. La situation en matière de sécurité est  telle que les déplacements indépendants sont grandement limités, si ce n’est impossible. L‘environnement instable entraîne des risques continus en matière de sécurité aussi bien pour les populations locales que pour le personnel de l’ONU.

12 septembre 2017
Arab States
Our stories

medical

SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

During 2017, nearly 250 UN Volunteers worldwide served in assignments that are clearly linked to medical professions. They bolstered the work of 23 UN partner entities, including the World Health Organization (WHO), the United Nations Populations Fund (UNFPA), UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR), United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and UNAIDS, as well as 13 UN peacekeeping missions. Through their assignments, they contribute significantly to Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 3, which targets achieving healthy lives and wellbeing for all.


09 April 2018
News
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

I have had the privilege and pleasure of practicing as a UN Volunteer Medical Doctor in three different countries. My first experience was in Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of Congo (2009) with the United Nations Organisation Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo (MONUC). This was my first opportunity to learn how the work of a UN mission is conducted, attending at the same time several important training sessions. During this assignment, our Level 2 Clinic treated many cases of malaria and other medical problems.

06 February 2018
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being

I am a medical doctor by profession. Above all instances in my life, being a UN Volunteer in a UN peacekeeping mission has had the greatest influence on uplifting my career. When I first chose to be a UN Volunteer with the United Nations Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL), it was a simple matter of my concern for people in such a deprived environment.  But after joining the mission, I realise that I also had a lot to gain from the experience. Serving with UNSMIL has strengthened my career by giving the opportunity to work among wide range of people in varied roles. 

16 January 2018
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

UN Volunteers serving with the UN Mission in Somalia (UNSOM) have a unique set of challenges. The security situation is such that independent circulation is highly restricted, if not impossible. The volatile environment poses continuous security risks both to local populations and to UN personnel.

12 September 2017
Arab States
Our stories