peace

SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

La Mission des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en Haïti (MINUSTAH) a été créée pour aider le Gouvernement de transition à assurer un environnement sûr et stable grâce à la réforme de la police nationale haïtienne et aux programmes de désarmement, démobilisation et réintégration (DDR).

03 novembre 2017
Actualités
SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

La journée internationale de la paix souligne cette année la solidarité avec les réfugiés et les migrants et met en lumière les bénéfices mutuels de la migration en faveur de l’économie et des nations. La campagne Ensemble nous rappelle à tous notre humanité commune et nos responsabilités partagées.

21 septembre 2017
Actualités
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Tout au long de ma carrière, j’ai eu envie de rejoindre un jour les Volontaires des Nations Unies (UNV). Cette envie m’a pris vie au fil des rencontres avec de nombreux Volontaires ONU durant mes années de service militaire en Afrique. Même si la plupart d’entre eux étaient de jeunes actifs, d’autres ayant le même âge que moi aujourd’hui avaient une vision plus approfondie du volontarisme. Ma candidature a heureusement été sélectionnée et je suis ravi d’en être à ce jour à ma deuxième mission UNV. 

21 septembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Après un conflit de 50 ans entre le gouvernement de Colombie et les Forces armées révolutionnaires de Colombie – Armée du peuple (FARC – EP), l’objectif principal de la Mission des Nations Unies en Colombie (UNMIC) est de soutenir la cessation des hostilités et de contrôler le renoncement aux armes ainsi que le cessez-le-feu bilatéral définitif.

20 septembre 2017
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Mon nom est Adil Abdallah et je suis originaire du Darfour. Depuis novembre 2014, je suis volontaire au sein de la Section des droits de l’homme de L’Opération hybride Union africaine/Nations Unies au Darfour (MINUAD), en tant spécialiste des droits de l’homme. Mes responsabilités incluent la collecte d’informations sur les abus et les violations des droits de l’homme commis au Darfour.

19 septembre 2017
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 4: Quality education, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Les volontaires de l’ONU représentent plus du tiers du personnel international au sein de la Mission de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation de la République démocratique du Congo (MONUSCO). Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une part importante du personnel, la mission demeure une opération de maintien de la paix fortement militarisée.

18 septembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Dans son bureau au siège du district de Kisumu, le volontaire des Nations Unies Castro Baraza finalise les rapports sur ses activités pré-électorales de réconciliation. Les résultats des élections présidentielles ont été annoncées trois semaines auparavant ; Kisumu demeure paisible, les affaires vont bon train et la nouvelle administration du district est déjà en place. Mais Castro travaille toujours avec acharnement pour garantir le maintien des dividendes de la paix et la concrétisation du programme de développement dans la région.


13 septembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Les Volontaires de l’ONU participant à la Mission d’assistance des Nations Unies en Somalie (MANUSOM) font face à une série de défis uniques. La situation en matière de sécurité est  telle que les déplacements indépendants sont grandement limités, si ce n’est impossible. L‘environnement instable entraîne des risques continus en matière de sécurité aussi bien pour les populations locales que pour le personnel de l’ONU.

12 septembre 2017
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 4: Quality education, SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

La présence de la mission ONU depuis 2014 a aidé à sauver de nombreuses vies et grandement amélioré les conditions de délivrance de l’assistance humanitaire vitale en République Centrafricaine (RCA), un pays où approximativement 40% de la population dépend de l’assistance humanitaire pour survivre, d’après le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires (OCHA). Avec près de 2 millions de personnes ayant besoin d’assistance, et des menaces constantes de violence, les défis auxquels font face les plus de 200 Volontaires ONU au sein de la MINUSCA sont importants.

11 septembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

La Mission des Nations Unies dans la République du Soudan du Sud (MINUSS) a été établie en 2011 et depuis l’éclatement du conflit en 2013, son mandat a évolué pour incorporer la protection des civils, le suivi et l’enquête sur les atteintes aux droits de l’homme, le soutien au processus de paix mené par le Soudan du Sud et le soutien pour la délivrance de l’assistance humanitaire vitale. Quelques 440 Volontaires de l’ONU, comme Jackson Kambale Hangi (République Démocratique du Congo), sont sur place pour soutenir les objectifs de la mission et venir en aide aux communautés locales.

07 septembre 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories

peace

SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Throughout my career, I always had the idea of one day joining the United Nations Volunteers (UNV). I was inspired by the many UN Volunteers I met during my years of service in Africa. While most were young, active individuals, there were also older ones like me now, with a strong vision of volunteerism. Fortunately, I was successful in my application and am blessed to now be in my second UNV assignment.

21 September 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

The International Day of Peace highlights this year solidarity with refugees and migrants and showcases the shared benefits of migration to economies and nations. The "Together" campaign reminds us all of our common humanity and shared responsibilities towards one another.

21 September 2017
News
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

After a 50-year conflict between the Government of Colombia and the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia–People’s Army (FARC-EP), the objective of the UN Mission in Colombia (UNMC) is to support cessation of hostilities and to monitor the abandonment of arms as well as the definitive bilateral ceasefire.

20 September 2017
Latin America and the Caribbean
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

My name is Adil Abdallah, I’m from Darfur. I have been serving, since November 2014, as a national UN Volunteer Human Rights Officer with the Human Rights Section of the African Union/UN Hybrid operation in Darfur (UNAMID). My responsibilities include collecting information on human rights violations and abuses in Darfur. I report on serious human rights violations, including rape, abductions, arbitrary arrests and killing.

19 September 2017
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 4: Quality education, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

UN Volunteers represent well over a third of the international personnel within the UN Mission for the Stabilization of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUSCO). Despite this important component of personnel, the Mission remains a highly-militarized peacekeeping operation.

18 September 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

UN Volunteer Castro Baraza sits in his office at the Kisumu County Headquarters finalizing reports of his pre-election peace building activities. It is three weeks since the presidential results were announced, and Kisumu remains peaceful with business fully operational and the new County administration already taking charge. Castro is however still hard at work, ensuring the peace dividends are maintained and the development agenda in the region is realized.

13 September 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 3: Good health and well-being, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

UN Volunteers serving with the UN Mission in Somalia (UNSOM) have a unique set of challenges. The security situation is such that independent circulation is highly restricted, if not impossible. The volatile environment poses continuous security risks both to local populations and to UN personnel.

12 September 2017
Arab States
Our stories
SDG 4: Quality education, SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

The presence of the UN Mission since 2014 has helped save many lives and greatly improved conditions for the delivery of vital humanitarian assistance in the Central African Republic (CAR), a country where approximately 40% of the population is dependent on humanitarian assistance to survive, according to OCHA.

11 September 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 10: Reduced inequalities, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

The United Nations Mission in the Republic of South Sudan (UNMISS) was established in 2011 and since the outbreak of conflict in 2013 its mandate has evolved to include the  protection of civilians the monitoring and investigating of human rights abuses, support to the South Sudanese–led peace process and support for the delivery of vital humanitarian assistance. Some 440 UN Volunteers, such as myself, are on location supporting mission objectives and assisting local communities.

07 September 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories
SDG 8: Decent work and economic growth, SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

My name is Henry Tambade (Zimbabwe). I am an international UN Volunteer stationed in Monrovia, serving as Corrections Training Officer with the United Nations Mission in Liberia (UNMIL) since September 2013. I have a degree in Adult Education which I obtained from the Midlands State University in Zimbabwe in 2010. I also have a diploma in the same field obtained in 2005 from the University of Zimbabwe.

05 September 2017
Sub-Saharan Africa
Our stories